Showering elephant.

Water festival

Nakhon Nayok, Thailand.

I took this photo during the water festival in Thailand.

Thai people are generally friendly and fun people but they are probably at their most fun during the water festival called Songkran. It takes place during the hottest month of the year and conveniently enough people splash cold water on each other for three days.

I felt a real connection to this elephant. As everyone was showering it with water I was just standing a few feet away from it and admiring its beauty. To see this incredible animal behave so gently and intelligently with the children really made me emotional as I knew that many elephants living in captivity do not get treated so well. As the mahout was walking the elephant away I started to wish that I would have taken the opportunity to touch him. Suddenly the elephant turned around, ignoring the mahouts calls, walked back towards me and grabbed my hand with its trunk. I almost choked. It singled me out in between all the other people that was standing around us to watch the elephant play. I couldn’t believe it. It was as if the elephant could read my mind. I will never forget that moment for as long as I live…

2 thoughts on “Showering elephant.

Leave a Reply

